We fucking did it…

11Aug07

Today I am a candidate for the seat of Mayor of the city of San Francisco. There has been $9,678.54 raised since my first ask for money on late Monday night. Most of it in $20 donations. Most of it from people I don’t know. Most of it in the last 30 hours. Holy shit. Holy sheep shit. We’ve arrived. I’ve got a plan, a secret weapon, a truck that runs on coffee grinds and the support of a community that loves me and is proud of me.

I already won.

But let’s take it all the way, just to be sure.

mayor big check

Here is a photo of me on Channel 7ABC News with my $4,748.50 check I gave to the department of elections… I told you it was a big check!

I’ve already got panned (again) in the Chronikle. http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2007/08/11/MAYOR.TMP

I’m emotionally drained. Exhausted. We really did it. It’s exciting. I mean it’s all a show in the end, of course. And all shows are just stories. And in the end, it’s all the same story. But today, 1 day like any other was a day when a guy who was theoretical became actual. What was an idea is now action. Before we were having thoughts and discussion and emotions and duty. Now we are having action and consequences and excitement and passion. And whatever happens it will be great. How can it not be?

More photos and video on Monday. But for now, with every cell in my being I want to thank all of you for your support and your trust. I plan on doing an awesome job and making everyone proud and more than anything else I plan on keeping the milk snarfing out of your nose. I plan on getting the matching funds and having about $100,000 fund to run with. Plenty for what we want to do. Were gonna do more then make a dent. We’re gonna total the car. We who have done so much with so little for so long are now qualified to do anything with nothing. Indeed. Today I feel very lucky. Blessed. Whatever. And also a little pensive. I think that people are counting on me to do something… ‘anything’! I got a text message an hour ago: Holy shit, Chicken. You the one who’s running for us.” I didn’t think of it like that before. It’s been decades since I learned so much in such a short period of time. I’m spinning.

I hope that everyone gets to have a day like this every once in a while. It’s pretty cool…..

Here’s a little piece in the Morning News: http://www.themorningnews.org/archives/pwl/san_francisco_chicken_john.php

There seems to be little pieces of me everywhere…

2 Responses to “We fucking did it…”

  1. 1 Ren

    Good job San Francisco and congratulations Chicken 🙂

  2. WAHOOO! Now that’s how it’s done, eh, Chicken? Congratulations to you and to all of us! To further everything that your campaign can mean to the arts and culture, I’m devoting my blog to Chicken Scratch (ha!) for the duration. AND declaring today, August 11, to be Rinaldi Day. Has a nice ring, doesn’t it?
    love rules, dontcha know.
    Suzanna
    aka Bell T.


Leave a Reply

